Here we go…

Hello everybody!

My name’s Ellen Collins and I work for the Research Information Network (RIN). Along with the University of Huddersfield, we’re running 25 Research Things.

The RIN has had a longstanding interest in how researchers use web 2.0 to share information. Some of this has rubbed off on me – since joining the organisation I’ve started using Twitter, and I even write the occasional blog.

However, I’m still very much in the paddling end of the web 2.0 swimming pool. So, in the interest of becoming more of a practice-what-you-preach kind of a gal, I’ve decided to join in with all the Huddersfield researchers taking part in this programme. Previously, this project has only ever been run for librarians, and I’m excited to see what’s different when we involve researchers.

I’m looking forward to experimenting with some of the newer tools and techniques, the ones I haven’t yet tried. I know that not everything will necessarily work for me but, since this project itself originated and was mostly written using web 2.0 tools, I’m aware that they can have powerful and unexpected uses.

So, bring on the next 9 weeks!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Here we go…

  1. stitchesoftime

    Hi Ellen, nice to meet you. I too am still ‘paddling’ with most things – a couple of weekends ago used Twitter for the first time too.
    Alison

  2. Hi Ellen,
    Powerful and unexpected consequences is what I am concerned about…(!)

    If you are in the paddling pool of all this then, to judge by all the blue tags in your blog, I am standing on the side making elaborate preparations to dip my big toe into the water. But I do believe that I am in good hands so as you say, bring it on.

    I’ll be the one wearing colourful and exotic bouyancy aids. See you in the deep end.
    Sasha

  3. Hi Emma – nice to meet you. I look forward to us all exploring these Web 2.0 technologies together. Some of them I use a lot and some not at all, so interested in trying the new ones..

Leave a comment